The Forum

ADC Pi: Simultaneous measurements?

1684 Views - Created 17/01/2020

17/01/2020

Posted by:
aa3025

aa3025 Avatar

Hello All,

is it possible to make continious simultaneous measurements on 8 channels?

I just started playing with boards today (got 2 x ADC Pi) and in the demo examples, channels are sampled in "serial" fasion, e.g. do N samples on one channel, then do N samplas on another chanel (continiously or one off) etc. It is in a loop. So there is a time delay between sampling one channel and then another.

Can I say "do N samples continiously on channels [1-8]" (at least within one board), so that each recorded sample on each channel is acquired approximately at the "same" time instant?

I found it great that I can sample one channel in a loop in one terminal and can sample another channel independently in another terminal etc. So, if there is no way to do them "simulteneously" in continious mode, may be it is possible to use openmpi/mpirun to launch "simultaneously" (kind of) acquisitions on each channel as a separate mpi thread?

Regards

Alex

17/01/2020

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hello Alex

Unfortunately, it is not possible to read from the ADC channels simultaneously as the ADCs only support reading from a single channel at a time.

We have an article in our knowledge base which goes into detail about the sample rates of the ADCs used on our ADC Pi and ADC Differential Pi and how to maximise the performance. Hopefully, this will be useful in helping you to get the maximum ADC sample rate for your project.

17/01/2020

Posted by:
aa3025

aa3025 Avatar

Thanks for you reply,

but you are saying "ADCs only support reading from a single channel at a time"