Register   or   Sign In
The Forum

selecting Water Pressure Sensor

6688 Views - Created 26/07/2020

26/07/2020

Posted by:
harvey mushman

harvey mushman Avatar

I'm new to RPi and 1 wire development. Uses RPi4 and Python for project to control hydronic heating system that includes six motors which turn on/off seperate water flow circuits. In this application I plan to monitor pressure, flow and temperature. The goal is to watch when water passing through solar collector (heat generator) gets hot enough to transfer into circuit that consumes heat, such as swimming pool heat exchanger (pool water is seperate from closed main loop of hydronic water), the water pump will run as long as the heat exists.

First question, selecting a pressure sensor, which is required to ensure ample water is always in the system? There are a lot of options available but knowing which ones will interface to the 1 Wire bus has me searching for examples without finding anything for the RPi application.

I'm using the AB Electronics 1WirePiPlus interface PCB. My working pressure range is from 0-100psi.

Any sample Python code and recomendation for sensor would be greatly appreicated.

####

26/07/2020

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hello Harvey

I don't know of any 1-wire devices that will measure pressure directly. Maxim used to make a DS2450 1-wire 4-channel ADC which could be used to measure the voltage from any pressure sensor that gives an analogue voltage but it looks like the chip has been discontinued so you would have to find someone with old stock.

If you only need to know when the pressure drops below a safe level you could use a pressure switch connected to a DS2413 dual-channel programmable I/O 1-wire chip. Select a pressure switch that switches at your minimum safe pressure and connect the output to one of the inputs on the DS2413. When the pressure drops below the limit the value on the DS2413 would change from 1 to 0.