Register   or   Sign In
The Forum

Neopixel LEDs and IO Pi expansion board

1130 Views - Created 12/05/2020

12/05/2020

Posted by:
user387283

user387283 Avatar

Hello, this is my first time working with the IO Pi expansion board and I am having a little trouble understanding the steps needed to run neopixel leds off of the expansion board.

Hardware:

Raspberry Pi Zero, IO Pi expansion board, and neopixel leds

Software Libraries - Python:

board, digitalio, ABElectronics IOPi and neopixel

https://github.com/abelectronicsuk/ABElectronics_Python_Libraries/blob/master/IOPi/IOPi.py

https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_CircuitPython_NeoPixel/blob/master/neopixel.py

This is an example of how to initialize the neopixel:

# Configure the setup
PIXEL_PIN = board.D1  # pin that the NeoPixel is connected to
ORDER = neopixel.RGB  # pixel color channel order
COLOR = (100, 50, 150)  # color to blink
CLEAR = (0, 0, 0)  # clear (or second color)
DELAY = 0.25  # blink rate in seconds

# Create the NeoPixel object
pixel = neopixel.NeoPixel(PIXEL_PIN, 1, pixel_order=ORDER)

board.D1 being digital pin 1 from the raspberry pis gpio. How am I supposed to assign a pin from the IO Pi board to the pixel?

12/05/2020

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hello

Unfortunately, the IO Pi is not compatible with the neopixel as the I/O pins can not be switched on and off fast enough.

The neopixel needs a data speed of 800Kbps, while the maximum speed of the I/O pins on the IO Pi is around 1KHz.

14/05/2020

Posted by:
user387283

user387283 Avatar