The Forum

WeatherStation Anemometer,WindVane PiZeroW Pi4 HELP

1167 Views - Created 21/02/2021

21/02/2021

Posted by:
skthornber@mac.com

skthornber@mac.com Avatar

Hello,

Here we go, I am not a brilliant coder, nor an electronics expert and I take a long time to absorb new stuff (I'm 65).

I am an enthusiastic Radio Amateur. G6SGA

I am trying to do the following -- WeatherStation: I have an Anemometer and a windVane both RS485.

Idea is to connect as follows Vane/Anemometer >> RPi RS485hat/to RPizeroW -- supported via a Solar Panel>BuckConverters and a 12VLiOn battery --

Sensors:

Jeffergarden Signal Output Polycarbonate Wind Speed Sensor Anemometer Wind Direction Table Wind Speed
Hongzer Wind Anemometer, Pulse Signal Output Aluminium Alloyed Wind Speed Sensor Anemometer
PiHat -- https://www.abelectronics.co.uk/p/77/rs485-pi

Current issue: iPi3 -- talking to the RPi rs485 .... I need python code that will do this. and this is my problem - I have had these devices for over 12 months and I just can't seem to get anything to work. -- I am missing something fundamental. (Brain).

RPizeroW - seems to be setup pretty well and I can make any changes and have backups of the SDCard.

I can connect to PiZeroW via SSH or VNC and my python IDE is on a Win10-PC with a shred drive set up between PC<>NAS<>RPi Synology NAS box. .... in fact I can connect to the RPiZeroW from anywhere on my home network including an iMAC & a MacBook.

I have written (copied somebodies idea) py code that flashes an LED. Hello world with LED.

The comms for both the Wind direction sensor and the Anemometer are the same

Baud, 9600, 8,N,1 with CRC

Modbus RTU

Registers: Anemometer :

0016H [40017](plc) read-only - Wind Speed 0.1m/s

0100H [40101] R/W device address (0-252)

0101H [40102] R/W Baud(2400/4800/9600)

Inquiry Frame:

Address [0x01] --- Function [0x03] --- Start address [0x00 0x16] --- Data Length [0x00 0x01] --- CRC_L [0x65] --- CRC_H [0xCE]