Support Forum

Share your projects and post your questions

Register   or   Sign In
The Forum

In over my head, complete noob in need of data logging advice.

2350 Views - Created 28/04/2016

28/04/2016

Posted by:
chrisshone

chrisshone Avatar

HiI work at a college that Is helping out a local school in a project theyre involved in. (theyre sending a capsule up on a weather balloon)Ive been given the task of recording the voltages and amps off two items with a Pi 2 Model B"The solar motor is 2V with 50mA Amp max, the solar panel is 5V and Max Amps is about 500mA" The solar motor has a fan and is driven by the wind during the balloons acent.Now im completley new to both hardware and software other than kits i used to build as a kid and as far as programming goes the last code i wrote was for a ZX81 :) yep that long ago!Ive spent the last twodays scratching around in the hope of finding an answer when I came across the ADC Pi Plus Im I right in thinking that this will provide me with the neccesary input?Any advice for my feeble mind is very much appreciated.cheerschris

28/04/2016

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hi Chris

The ADC Pi Plus would work for measuring the voltages and current but based on what you have described the ADC Differential Pi may be a better option.

With the solar motor do you need to measure the voltage and the current or just the current? One thing you need to watch out for with motors is back emf which is a voltage spike in the reverse direction that occurs when the motor is running. This voltage spike is often several times greater than the forward voltage and could break the ADC if the spike exceeds the maximum input voltage. You can add a protection diode to the motor circuit to limit this problem.