Register   or   Sign In
The Forum

IO Pi Plus bus pins #01 and #09 register activity but other pins dont

3625 Views - Created 05/10/2015

07/09/2015

Posted by:
nathanxl

nathanxl Avatar

Hello.Im a novice.I have a simple processing sketch running on a rasp pi 2.
It has 2x IO Pi Plus shields and an ADC Pi Plus shield.
When the pins are crossed with 5v from the Pi or an external battery pack it is registered correctly and I can see this activity in processing.
However the problem Ive encountered is that when using my sensors/circuits to the pins (The sensors/circuits give 5v hi/lo state gates) only pins #01 and #09 on the IO pi register any activity. The other pins dont register anything... I am correctly connecting common ground between everything.
What is happening here, what am I doing wrong and please help?
Thankyou

07/09/2015

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hello

What type of sensors are you trying to connect to the IO Pi? Some sensors may need to have a pull-down or pull-up resistor attached to the input so it changes state correctly.

Are you using our Python library to read from the pins and if so are you using the ReadPin or ReadPort function to read the status of the pins?

07/09/2015

Posted by:
nathanxl

nathanxl Avatar

Thanks Andrew.At the moment all that Im trying to input to the IO pi is a 5v gate from an opamp in a modular synthesizer, its oscillating on/off at about once a second. It has sufficient resistance pulling it down.The code is a mystery to me, a friend wrote it for me so I dont know what/if Python libraries were used. Hopefully he will be able to comment here or relay back to me information soon.
Can you explain what the possible issues could be that result only pins 01 and 09 registering the inputs while the others dont?

07/09/2015

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website