The Forum

i2c installation instructions

3088 Views - Created 16/11/2015

16/11/2015

Posted by:
kryten2x4p

kryten2x4p Avatar

hello
I am following the instruction given on https://www.abelectronics.co.uk/kb/article/1/i2c--smbus-and-raspbian-linux
All was going well until I went to download the i2c tools source using wget http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/i/i2c-tools/i2c-tools_3.1.0.orig.tar.bz2
I get returned the timestamp followed by ERROR 404: Not Found
I can see the file if I put the ftp address into a browser on my windows pc.
I have checked several times that I have not entered the string wrongly.
Any ideas? I'm relatively new to this and don't know how to use alternative dload methods with the pi
Thanks

16/11/2015

Posted by:
admin

admin Avatar

admin Website  

Please can you check the DNS settings on the Raspberry Pi networking? It sounds like a name resolving issue if the domain cant be found.

16/11/2015

Posted by:
kryten2x4p

kryten2x4p Avatar

Thanks for the response.
It is not a DNS issue. While making one of several attempts to download the file I omitted the underscore between /i2c-tools and 3.1.0... and it downloaded a file called i2c-tools! Is there an issue with the underscore symbol? Am I using the right symbol (shift - [minus]) between zero and equals keys?
Thanks

21/11/2015

Posted by:
kryten2x4p

kryten2x4p Avatar

I eventually got it sorted by downloading the i2c-tools_3.1.0.orig.tar.bz2 file using the browser in the GUI. I then just had to decompress the file and move the folder up 1 level before following the instructions. I think the instructions should be more clear as to what version of Debian they are refering to as I had a few wee muddling problems that I eventuallymanaged to sort through. I don't usually like to have to exercise my brain cells this much but it was worth it in the end!
Next is the IO Plus board...

21/11/2015

Posted by:
kryten2x4p

kryten2x4p Avatar