Register   or   Sign In
The Forum

12v Solenoid

1 Views - Created 20/12/2023

20/12/2023

Posted by:
sunilvb

sunilvb Avatar

I am a noob, trying to operate a 12v Solenoid with Rpi4 + IOPiPlus + 12v Relay. Took the Blinking LED sample code and used it as-is for the 12v Solenoid. Quickly figured out I will need help. Appreciate any and all guidance.

https://www.abelectronics.co.uk/kb/article/17/io-pi-plus-tutorial-1-the-blinking-led
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YkHNToP7ESybP93u-obfoX_v4uEuNsTa/view?usp=sharing

20/12/2023

Posted by:
andrew

andrew Avatar

andrew Twitter  andrew Website  

Hi

Your relay board will need to be wired up differently to use it for switching a solenoid.

The solenoid needs to be connected to a relay output. Connect the 12V+ to the middle of the three screw terminals and the solenoid to the next terminal. The ground wire for the solenoid needs to be connected to the 12V ground on the power supply. If the solenoid activates when the power is switched on you may need to move the solenoid 12V+ to the screw terminal on the other end of the 3-pin connector nearest the edge of the PCB.

The ground on the IO Pi Plus needs to connect to the DC- terminal on the long row of connectors. Pin 1 on the IO Pi Plus connects to the IN1 terminal. This allows the IO Pi Plus to control the relay through the optocoupler on the relay board.

If your relay board runs on 12V you will need to connect the DC+ terminal to your 12V power supply. If it is the 5V version connect DC+ to the 5V pin on the IO Pi Plus. If you are not sure which version you have you can check the voltage rating of the relays. The 5V version should have a relay code of SRD-05VDV-SL-C. The 12V version should have a relay code of SRD-12VDV-SL-C.

The image below should help explain this better.

forum image